'Personal development' or to be content

Talk about anything general that doesn't fit into any other category.
Rdb1989

'Personal development' or to be content

Postby Rdb1989 » Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:09 pm

I'm new to this guys, and I'm most definitely an introvert. Today I'm off work and nobody is in the house apart from me and my dog at the moment; it feels blissful and I just feel so much more relaxed than I have been. Even when it's just my parents in the house, I often feel like I need that time by myself.

My introversion is combined with mild anxiety which sometimes manifests itself quite forcefully which many would probably term moderate anxiety. I feel like I've got a bit of a hold on my anxiety now though, and it is improving.

I just have a question for all the introverts out there...

I've been quite into self development for quite a while now, the whole striving to improve yourself and better yourself and following your heart and all that which is abundant in the personal development community.

A week or so ago I was feeling pretty content even though I'm working a job which doesn't pay too much and I don't really know what job I ultimately want to do in the future. I was feeling a kind of safe contentment and appreciating life. I was feeling spiritual and pretty happy, and in those quiet, reflective moments, I felt good.

I then watched an interview with Elliott Hulse. Now I don't know if you all know of him, but I really like Elliott Hulse and he has really impacted my life. The thing is though, whenever I listen to interviews with him or people like him who are very much into personal development and the strongest version of yourself, I start feeling downbeat and as if I've really not achieved anything in my life of 25 years. I feel like I'm missing out on something and as if I'm not living my life the way I should be and that I'm not becoming the strongest version of myself.