Getting Anxiety over Work Functions

Talk about things related to careers or working.
Imagiton
MBTI code: INFJ

Getting Anxiety over Work Functions

Postby Imagiton » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:57 pm

Hi Everyone, not posted for a few weeks.

I seem to be going through a bumper session of 'work functions'. I work in the hospitality industry, where the opening of an envelope appears to be cause for team meals out with post-party drinks. To make matters worse, there are a few extroverts in my office that try to push their party-animal nature onto me. My team has booked our own xmas team meal, been invited to another by our boss and an in-office Christmas party all spread over November - December, plus a new invite out to an inter-departmental night out... The company always seems to book parties on a Thursday (which clashes with my harp lessons), pushes drinking culture but expects a full (but hungover) attendance the next day.

I've just tried approaching another innie in my team for support as the thought of so many parties, but the resident outspoken extrovert of group overheard and pooh-poohed the mere thought of me not going or limiting my drinking (strangely, no problem with other / older members of our team not getting trashed...). He just won't accept that I plain just don't want to - it's rather rude and intolerant of him, if you ask me. If truth be told, there were some snide comments made about me at the last Summer BBQ when I was put in a taxi with some people from a different department.

I'm nervous about attending all these parties. The two Christmas meals I have to attend now, but the latest inter-departmental meal out is the one I really have a problem with. Any advise on how to bow out gracefully, hold firm against bullying extrovert types and just general cope as an introvert in what appears to be an extrovert's world?

Orientalist
MBTI code: ISFJ

Re: Getting Anxiety over Work Functions

Postby Orientalist » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:33 am