Ask for advice

Talk about things related to careers or working.
nicoclone

Ask for advice

Postby nicoclone » Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:23 am

Well, so we are all introvert here and one of the appropriate major to take for an introvert is IT. I also have dream to become a successful game developer but i just don't know how to start it. So, could someone that have experience in game developing or at least expert in programming and coding tell me where should i start and give some guidance to me?? Can i be a game developer if i am just alone or maybe i should ask people to join at my project??

swift502

Re: Ask for advice

Postby swift502 » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:19 am

Hi, hopefully better late than never.

I'm not a real programmer, this is my unprofessional view.
I think, that first of all you need to be passionate about what you do. You won't be able to learn much, if your motivation will be earning money, getting famous or anything like that. An example of people with wrong motivations are those so called "indie" developers who release grass simulators on steam or flappy bird clones on Android. It just doesn't work. They eventually burn out because they realise it's not as easy to achieve their "easy money" goal as they thought, or actually release products so s**t and unplayable, because hey, it's business, they don't care about quality, they get the ad money.
So once you do it because you want to create great, wonderful and amazing projects no one's ever seen before, you can start learning. The question is, what do you imagine under "game development". Two major areas are programming and game visuals. (And also sound design and stuff that no one cares about...)

Programming:

Firstly what I think you want to get into:
Getting games done (this guy and his Game making journey)